My Favourite Banana Bread


Banana Bread has to be one of my all time favourite sweet treats. Admittedly, I am a bit of a banana fiend, but this recipe always seems to be a crowd pleaser. I love to offer this when friends and family come round, especially over a cup of tea. Of course, there are so many banana bread recipes out there and everyone has their own way of doing it. Saying that, I’ve finally mastered one that is just the way I like it!

What’s great about banana bread is that, although a traditional recipe, it can be made healthy and nutritious very easily – with few ingredients, too. As banana bread has a much denser texture than other cakes, I’ve used buckwheat and ground almonds in this recipe. This makes a thick batter and helps the loaf hold its shape once baked. As the bananas are both wet and sweet, I’ve kept the maple syrup to a minimum, despite my excessive sweet tooth! The warming spice of cinnamon also adds sweetness to the banana bread, that pairs wonderfully with maca. This is optional, but if you can get hold of some, its malty caramel flavour is quite special.

Recently, I’ve been enjoying my banana bread for breakfast. Topped with nut butter and pumpkin seeds, it’s the perfect morning fuel. But you can definitely get creative with this! Natural yoghurt (dairy or coconut – whatever your preference) and blueberries is another of my favourites.

Ingredients:

500g Bananas
150g Buckwheat Flour
50g Ground Almonds
75ml Maple Syrup
1 tsp Cinnamon
1 tsp Maca (optional)

+ Coconut Oil for greasing

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees celsius and grease a loaf tin with coconut oil.
  2. Place the bananas into a large mixing bowl and mash together. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Transfer into the loaf tin and bake in the oven for 35 minutes.
  3. Transfer to a wire track and leave to cool for 10 minutes. Then slice, and enjoy!

 


Leave a Reply

