Peanut Butter Cookies

I spent last weekend at what was my idea of heaven – Fare Healthy. As a wellness, food and lifestyle festival, it was a celebration of all things healthy with lots of my favourite brands in the business there. From Pip and Nut to the Mae Deli, and many more that I had not yet discovered, it was a foodie paradise. I was there with Livia’s Kitchen, selling our Raw Millionaire Bites (which I have not stopped eating since working here!) and listening to Olivia’s talk with Ella Mills and Pippa Murray. It was great to meet so many people interested in the more nutritious way of baking, and talk to other like-minded brands, too.

One brand located near our stall was ManiLife. They make all natural peanut butter using nuts sourced from Argentina, and it is dee-licious! I’m a complete nut-butter addict, so I just had to take some home with me. In order to stop myself from eating it straight from the jar, I decided to make some cookies with it. This recipe uses ManiLife’s deep roasted peanut butter, which is much darker and less sweet than regular peanut butter. It’s also crunchy, whereas I would normally, and perhaps controversially, opt for smooth. However, I think this adds the all-important crunch to these cookies, and the deep roast really adds a richness to their flavour.

For me, one of the best things about baking with more nutritious ingredients is that the treats are great for almost any time of the day. Peanut butter is an excellent source of healthy fats and protein, which should set you up for the day and keep you going. As well as providing a great texture to the cookies, the jumbo oats are also a source of fibre and help to regulate blood sugar levels. So, these cookies can be enjoyed for any occasion -from breakfast, to an afternoon snack, or anytime your sweet-tooth creeps up. Although, I have to admit, the raw cookie dough is absolute heaven! You must eat some straight from the bowl before baking!

Makes 9

Ingredients 

200g Buckwheat Flour
100g Oats
150g ManiLife Deep Roasted Peanut Butter
50ml Maple Syrup
30g Coconut Sugar
75g Coconut Oil, melted

Method

  1. Place all the ingredients into a large bowl and mix well. I find it’s best to get stuck in with your hands for this.
  2. Shape into round cookie shapes and place on a baking tray with greaseproof paper. Bake for 25 minutes.
  3. Leave to cool slightly, before devouring!

img_5900

Leave a Reply

