Iced Matcha Shake

Matcha in a milkshake? Yes, it’s as good as it sounds!

I love picking up a matcha latte on-the-go, particularly as it makes a refreshing change from coffee when needed. Since investing in some matcha powder myself, I enjoy making my own too – I have become a member of the growing matcha fan club! But, as the weather is growing warmer, a hot drink seems less appealing. However, to continue using my matcha powder I’ve been experimenting with many other uses, such as adding it to breakfast bars, which has proven to be delicious. I also set out to create a more summery matcha drink to replace my lattes, whilst retaining its simplicity. This has taken the form of my Iced Matcha Shake! Of course, just as a matcha latte, the core ingredient is milk but, with the addition of ice and frozen banana, it’s been transformed into a cool and creamy shake. The perfect beverage for warmer weather.

For those unsure of what Matcha is, it’s the powdered form of Green Tea. So, it’s packed with natural antioxtidants and is a renowned metabolism booster. It’s a great addition to any diet, which is why I could not see mine sitting there all summer going unused! Usually I would add cinnamon to my matcha lattes at home, and this is offered in many cafes too, including the Mae Deli. Matcha and cinnamon are a winning combination, which is why I’ve included cinnamon in this shake, despite it traditionally being thought of as a warming, festive spice. Brown Rice Milk is the milk that I have chosen as it’s a lot sweeter than other non-dairy milks, so no need to add any honey or maple syrup to this. Also note that a little goes a long way with matcha, which is why only a small amount is needed here (though most pots do come with their own scoop to determine portion size). As long as you stick to this, the flavour will be subtle and pleasant, not overpowering. The matcha powder creates the most amazing colour too!

This is the sort of milkshake that, if you make it once, you’re bound to make it again and again!

Serves 1

Ingredients

250ml Brown Rice Milk
1 Frozen Banana
Handful Ice Cubes
1/4 tsp Matcha Power
1/4 tsp Ground Cinnamon

Method

Place all of the ingredients into a blender and blend until a smooth, yet creamy texture is reached. Pour into a glass and enjoy!

13401241_10154282467255680_261656830_n

Milkshake fan? Why not try…  My ‘Sweet Treat’ Smoothie

Leave a Reply

