My Sweet Treat Smoothie

Vegan, GF, DF

This smoothie is so dreamy! And this comes from someone who isn’t really the biggest smoothie fan. Don’t get me wrong, they’re delicious, but I find them kind of difficult to fit into my eating habits. A smoothie for breakfast will never satisfy me, though they’re too filling to accompany my porridge, for example. Then, if I’m looking for an afternoon pick-me-up, somehow a fruit smoothie never appeals; there are times when you just need something more indulgent. Usually, I’d opt for an energy ball, raw brownie or my recent favourite – a matcha latte. So, with this recipe I aimed to recreate a sweet-treat, in smoothie form!

Made with oats, banana and dates, it’s super-energising, so makes for the perfect breakfast, as well as overcoming that afternoon energy slump. I’ve also added chia seeds, which are great at fighting fatigue too. Not only this, they’re bursting with nutrients and antioxidants, so truly earn their superfood reputation. To recreate the satisfaction of a sweet-treat, minimal liquid is used in this smoothie which gives it a wonderfully thick and creamy consistency. Of course, I couldn’t resist including one of my favourite flavours – ginger! I know ground ginger can be pretty strong, so if you’re not as keen then feel free to use just a pinch. However, I think this is what makes the smoothie that little bit special.

This smoothie really does taste like a sweet-treat! So next time I’m after something deliciously indulgent, yet nutritious and energising, this hits the spot perfectly.

Serves 1

Ingredients
2 tbsp Oats
1 small Banana
2 Medjool Dates* (pitted)
1 tbsp Chia Seeds
1/2 tsp Ground Ginger
250ml Almond Milk (unsweetened)

Method
Place all the ingredients in a blender and whizz until smooth. Pour into a glass – and enjoy!

* Just a note on Dates: it is not essential for them to be Medjool, but these are stickiest and sweetest meaning they do work the best. If you don’t want to use Medjool Dates then ordinary dates are great too – you may need to soak them in warm water before blending them though.

12992164_10154140708295680_1989197746_n

12969226_10154140708230680_320184241_n

One thought on “My Sweet Treat Smoothie

Leave a Reply

