My Pancake Day Recipe

HAPPY PANCAKE DAY!

I do love Pancake Day; mostly because it’s an excuse to have an extra-decadent breakfast! I have to admit though, whilst I always look forward to Pancake Day, it’s one of the very few occasions when I actually find the effort to make them for breakfast. However, this year, rather than going out for my pancake-fix or following a recipe, I decided to create my own. So, introducing my Spiced Chia Pancakes. I’ve accompanied them with a sweet berry compote, along with lemon juice which, needless to say, no pancakes are complete without.

Of course, Pancake Day is the day before the beginning of Lent, which is traditionally a period of fasting. Therefore, pancakes were made in order to use up all the fats and eggs left in the house – this is kind of what my own pancake experimentation reminded me of. Although these are free of dairy, wheat and refined-sugar, I was attempting to finish some of my ingredients left in the house before I go away for the week. But do not assume this means they’re any less tasty! In fact, I love how these pancakes can be made using everyday ingredients that you’ll always find in the pantry.

I think it’s important to make healthy pancakes retain the indulgence of ordinary ones, which is why I’ve made these nice and thick, and added spice for an extra boost of flavour. I’ve used oat flour (jumbo oats, blended) which is a great alternative to plain flour as it makes the pancakes wheat-free and therefore, easier to digest. I’ve also added spelt flour, which gives the pancakes a wonderful texture as well as being higher in protein. It’s not gluten-free, but has a very low gluten content and contains fewer calories, so it’s a good switch to make. But what makes the batter for these pancakes so thick is the chia ‘egg’, made from soaking the seeds in water. Not only this, chia seeds are a nutritional power house; packed with fibre, protein, omega-3 fatty acids and antioxidants.

I always think of pancakes as quite time consuming for a morning, which is probably why I hardly ever make them. It’s true that they certainly can be, and I do think these would make the perfect Sunday brunch. Yet, I whipped these up in no time at all. From now on, I will try my best not to restrict pancakes to Pancake Day!

Makes 4 -5 pancakes

Ingredients:
Pancakes:
1/2 cup Oats
1/2 cup Spelt Flour
2 tbsp Chia Seeds (plus 4 tbsp water)
1 cup Almond Milk
1 tsp Ground Mixed Spice

Compote:
150g Frozen Berries (I like to use a mixed berries)
1 tbsp Maple Syrup

For cooking: Coconut Oil
To serve: 1 Lemon

Method:
1. Combine the chia seeds with 4 tablespoons of water and leave for 20 minutes to form a chia ‘egg’.
2. Meanwhile, place the frozen berries into a pan over a medium heat. Once they start to melt, add in the maple syrup. Leave to one side.
3. Put the oats into a food processor and blitz until they form a flour.
4. In a mixing bowl, combine the oat flour with the remaining dry ingredients, then add the almond milk and chia ‘egg’. Mix until a batter forms.
5. Melt a little coconut oil in a pan on a high heat and use a ladle to pour on a portion of the batter.
6. After approximately 2 minutes, or until the edges look slightly browned, flip the pancake and cook for a further minute. Repeat with the rest of the batter.
7. Stack up the pancakes, pour on the sweet berry compote, and finally drizzle over the lemon juice. Serve immediately.

12659591_10153945090890680_1921799135_n

12696088_10153945091180680_1305812900_n

12665641_10153945090670680_299540967_n.jpg

3 thoughts on “My Pancake Day Recipe

Leave a Reply

