Pi Online – Park Run

A PARK RUN Revelation

You may remember in my post Fitness On Your Phone: My Favourite Workout Apps that I have been training to run 5K using the Couch to 5K app – well, I succeeded back in November and have since done more than I can count.In fact, I’ve now moved onto the next step… 10K!

I feel so much healthier and fitter for it and think of running as an enjoyable experience. I would even go as far as claiming that I look forward to going on a run which, trust me, I never thought I’d say! So, I thought I’d share my top tips for beginner runners:

  1. Invest in your Gear – Unlike many other activities, there’s no danger of ‘all the gear, no idea’ with running. Investing in some decent workout clothing that makes you feel good, will really improve your performance by helping both your physical abilities and self confidence. Some quality running trainers (I couldn’t be without my nikes!) and a good sports bra are essential.
  2. Push Yourself – The first couple of weeks began with 1-2 minute bursts of running, and I found that by pushing myself to run faster than I normally would at this stage really was a big factor in my fitness levels improving so much in such a short space of time.
  3. Plan Ahead – Couch to 5K commits you to doing three runs each week. For me, every week is different, so I find that it’s always worth thinking about when I’ll be able to fit them in on a Sunday evening. Ensure to make them a non-optional part of your schedule, so you won’t be tempted to skip.
  4. Keep a Positive Mind – Your body is capable of more than your mind tells it, so reject all negative thoughts. Instead of telling yourself you can’t do it, believe in what you can achieve. Instead of complaining that you’ve still got ten minutes left to run, congratulate yourself that you’ve already achieved twenty. Having this attitude will always succeed!

Before Christmas, I wrote this article for Pi Sport all about Park Run; an organised 5K run that takes place in parks all over the country every Saturday morning. This was what inspired me to get into running in the first place, so it seems fitting that I completed my goal by doing the Park Run. Please give it a read.

Pi Media Online – Sport: A Park Run Revelation

12540043_10153889300765680_1709451049_n
Park Run in Highbury Fields – Islington

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

